Orange Will Never Be The New Black 

I’ve been thinking lately about the color black–its versatility, its reliability, its undying appeal. In my mind, if you’re choosing between a questionable patterned blouse and a classic black one, the answer is obvious. Black is the friend you’ll always have. It will always be there to comfort you when nothing else goes right. 

I am aware that I am writing about the color black as if it is some sort of precious deity. Some could say that I’m being overly dramatic and snobby or that this is a “very SF thing for me to claim.” While others might say that I am speaking the plain truth. I mean truly, can you think of a time when wearing black was a bad idea? Didn’t think so. 

Whether you are going to a formal event, running some errands, exercising, hanging around the house, or meeting up with a hopeful tinder date, black is always a good idea. Trust in this. If for some incredulous reason you do not trust me, (scoff) trust the professionals themselves as they speak on the beloved wardrobe staple.

Looks created on the StyleChat app 

Christian Dior, the creative genius that he is claims that “You can wear black at any time. You can wear it at any age. You may wear it for almost any occasion.” 

Neiman Marcus makes the spicy assumption that “women who wear black live colourful lives” and I would have to agree. Well said Neiman, we really do. 

Yves Saint Laurent loves black because “it affirms, designs, and styles. A woman in a black dress is a pencil stroke.” More articulately put than conceivably possible, but an extremely true statement, nonetheless. 

There will never be another black, and that is exactly what I love about it. 

By: Leah Heyman 

Leave a Reply

