You Might Hear a Song From “Frozen” at a Wedding

Disney’s “Frozen” seems to be one of those movies that follows me everywhere I go.  Kids sang songs from the movie as I walked down grocery store aisles, and Vine and YouTube videos of “Do You Want to Build a Snowman?” parodies and covers filled my newsfeeds. However, I didn’t expect to hear a song from the movie at a wedding.

Tess Koman’s Cosmopolitan.com article,“Now People are Singing ‘Frozen’ at Their Weddings; When Will it All End?” explains it all.  I’ve always dreamed of hearing my favorite songs playing at my wedding. Which ones would I choose? Would my husband-to-be like them? What kind of band should I hire? Should I let people do karaoke? I thought about everything except dancing and lip-synching along to a song during my first dance with the groom.

No, there’s nothing wrong with incorporating your favorite movie tunes into your wedding. (Let’s be real, I’d love to have music from “Pride and Prejudice,” “Brideshead Revisited,” or “The Holiday” playing at my wedding.) But, “Frozen?” I’m a little confused.  No, the brides and grooms in the videos Koman shares weren’t asking each other to build a snowman.  Instead, they were dancing and lip-synching to “Love is an Open Door,” which made a little more sense.

Photo credit: Mark Romine Photography  Romineweddings.com/
Photo credit: Mark Romine Photography Romineweddings.com/

I guess this is just another modern love song. Call me a little old-school, but when I think of first-dance songs at weddings I think of classics such as Edwin McCain’s “I’ll Be,” Celine Dion’s “Because You Loved Me,” or Harry Connick Jr.’s “It Had to be You.” Even when I consider modern songs for weddings, ones from “Frozen” don’t pop up into my head. I think of ones such as Sara Bareilles’ “I Choose You,” Ron Pope’s “A Drop in the Ocean,” or Christina Perri’s “A Thousand Years.”

The videos of these newlyweds singing and dancing weren’t impressive to me, although that most likely wasn’t the goal.  In the case of a wedding, it isn’t about impressing a guest, it’s about making the bride and groom happy. If lip-synching “Love is an Open Door” makes them happy, then so be it. Who knows, maybe they’re just huge “Frozen” fans? I definitely know a few of those.

“Frozen” was a cute movie, but I’m not a die-hard fan. If it was my wedding, I’d do it differently. I’d pop in an instrumental track of “Love is an Open Door” (or perhaps a song I like more) and actually sing.

This may be an issue if my hubby doesn’t like to sing, but I think it would be a little more interesting to say the least. Or maybe I’d re-think this song for a first-dance and use it for something else instead.

How amazing would it be if the whole wedding party performed to this song? The bride and groom could be singing (or lip-synching) while the bridesmaids and groomsmen are the back-up singers and dancers. If you’re going to have a fun song at your wedding, why not make it a great memory to capture on video?

In the end, I think it’s important to choose a first-dance song that means something to the newlywed couple, and if a song from “Frozen” is special, then maybe that’ll do it.

By Stephanie Wong

One thought on “You Might Hear a Song From “Frozen” at a Wedding”

Leave a Reply

