The Bralette

Coming out to California for college taught me one thing about fashion: it changes with geography. I find that to be one of the most fascinating aspects of fashion! Compared to Arizona’s laid-back sundresses and cutoffs, California is so much more edgy and put together.  Sophisticated looks were emerging, and I saw things I had never even thought to be worn together. Class had transformed from a place where grungy sweatpants were acceptable, to a place where you could show off your cutest new blouse and boots. I couldn’t believe the change of pace in fashion, but I quickly grew to love the rush of finding the perfect outfit. I was seeing girls in booties and vests, things I had never really seen in action before!

One vital piece of clothing I had never truly witnessed before coming to the best coast was the bralette, and since my discovery I haven’t been able to shake my addiction of the necessary piece of lacey perfection. In California, girls rock this simple accessory in almost any way that they can. The versatility of this piece is one of the best parts of it and girls can be seen wearing it underneath a frumpy sweatshirt or a sheer and stylish shirt. Girls even love to wear them without a shirt, similar to how the ever controversial Miley Cyrus is rocking this must have item:

 

10173366_801523306544361_364735896_n

No matter what the circumstance, a bralette can be used to add sophistication and complexity to any outfit. It is a necessity in every girl’s wardrobe. I don’t think there is a single girl out there who doesn’t own a version of a bralette and I personally can’t believe I have lasted this long in my life without one.

-Maeve

Leave a Reply

